Daily : January 6, 2017

2016 SAFF Women's Championship

SAFF Women’s Championship

Question: Which of the following country won the 2016 SAFF Women’s Championship?
(a) Maldives
(b) Afghanistan
(c) Pakistan
(d) India
Ans (d)
Related facts:

  • The 2016 SAFF Women’s Championship was the fourth edition of the SAFF Women’s Championship, the biennial international women’s football championship contested by the national teams of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF).
  • The tournament began in India from 26 December 2016 and held upto 4 January 2017.
  • This was the first time India had hosted the SAFF Women’s Championship.
  • The participating teams (7) are India (host), Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.
  • Competition Results:
  • Winner: India (3-1)
  • Runner Up:Bangladesh
  • Sabitra Bhandari of Nepal is top goal scorer in the tournament (12).
  • This was India’s fourth consecutive SAFF Championship title.
  • The tournament saw no participation from Pakistan.


General Election to the Legislative Assemblies of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh, 2017

Announcement of poll schedule for five states

Question: Recently Election Commission announced the dates for Assembly polls of five states. Among these five states which of the following North East state is included?
(a) Arunachal Pradesh
(b) Manipur
(c) Assam
(d) Tripura
Ans: (b)
Related facts:

  • On 4 January 2016 the Election Commission announced the poll dates for Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa.
  • UP will have a seven phase election, with polling on February 11, 15, 19, 23, 27, March 4 and 8.
  • Phase-1 (11 February 2017)- 67 constituencies of 11 districts
  • Phase-2 (15 February 2017)- 67 constituencies of 11 districts
  • Phase-3 (19 February 2017)- 69 constituencies of 12 districts
  • Phase-4 (23 February 2017)- 53 constituencies of 12 districts
  • Phase-5 (27 February 2017)- 52 constituencies of 11 districts
  • Phase-6 (4 March 2017)- 49constituencies of 07 districts
  • Phase-7 (8 March 2017)- 40 constituencies of 07 districts
  • Uttar Pradesh will vote for 403 Legislative Assemblies seats out of which 84 are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 2 for Scheduled Tribes 2.
  • Election for total of 70 assembly seats in Uttarakhand will be concluded in one phase on 15 February 2017.
  • Goa has 40 seats and the election will be held in one phase on 4 February 2016.
  • Punjab has 117 seats and state will exercise its voting rights on 4 February.
  • The only state in the northeast, Manipur will go for election for 60 assembly seats in two phases i.e. on 4 March and 8 March 2017.
  • Counting will be held on 11 March 2017.
  • The maximum limit for expenses for each candidate in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab and Uttarakhand is Rs 28 lakh, while that in Goa and Manipur is Rs 20 lakh.
  • Over 16 crore voters will exercise their democratic rights for a total of 690 constituencies in five states, for which the Commission has set up 1.85 lakh polling stations.


IBM India names Karan Bajwa as MD

New managing director of IBM India

Question: Who has been appointed as managing director of IBM India?
(a) G Mahalingam
(b) Karan Bajwa
(c) Vanitha Narayanan
(d) Dinesh Kumar
Ans: (b)
Related facts:

  • On 4 January 2016; Technology giant IBM has appointed Karan Bajwa Managing Director of its India operations.
  • He succeeds Vanitha Narayana, who has been elevated as Chairman of IBM India.
  • Bajwa joined IBM last year as Executive for Strategy and Transformation in the Asia—Pacific region.
  • Previously, he was Microsoft India’s managing director.
  • He was associated with IBM’s networking business and was based in Singapore in 2001—05.

Related facts:

Skip to toolbar