Wangari Maathai Forest Champion Award 2015

wangari mathai forest award - 2015

Ques: When Wangari Maathai Forest Champion Awards as given for the first time?

a. 2010
b. 2011
c. 2012
d. 2013

Ans: c

Related facts:

  • September 10, 2015 Ugandan forestry activist Gertrude Kabusimbi Kenyangi was awarded the 2015 Wangari Maathai ‘Forest Champions’ Award.
  • She was awarded in recognition of her efforts to promote the conservation and sustainable use of her country’s forest resources.
  • Since 1994, Kenyangi has been working with Uganda’s National Forest Authority to protect and promote the sustainable use of tropical forests in the country’s Mbarara and Ntungamo districts.
  • With the help of the women of the community-based non-governmental organization Support for Women and Agriculture (SWAGEN), she has planted over one million trees in the Rwoho Natural Forest buffer zone.
  • It is notable that the first prize was awarded in 2012 to the Narayan Kaji Shrestha of Nepal.
  • The award carries a cash prize of $20,000.
  • The award was established in 2012 by the Collaborative Partnership on Forests (CPF), which is chaired by Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nation (FAO).
  • The Collaborative Partnership on Forests is comprised of 14 international organizations, including FAO, working together to promote forest management, conservation and sustainable development.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.