The Booker Prize 2019

The Booker Prize 2019

Question: Who is the winner of 2019 Booker Prize?
(a) Margaret Atwood
(b) Bernardine Evaristo
(c) Lucy Ellmann
(d) Both (a) & (b)
Answer: (d)
Related facts:

  • Margaret Atwood and Bernardine Evaristo have been declared the joint winners of the 2019 Booker Prize for Fiction after judges defied the single winner norm by declaring a tie.
  • Being joint winners, the pair will split the literary award’s £50,000 prize money equally.
  • Margaret Atwood received the award for her novel–‘The Testament’ whereas Bernardine Evaristo has been awarded the Booker Prize for her novel ‘Girl, Woman, Other’.
  • The Testaments is a follow up to Atwood’s 1985 dystopian novel The Handmaid’s Tale.
  • Total of six books were shortlisted for the award alongwith Salman Rushdie’s tragicomic ‘Quichotte’.
  • Having won the Booker Prize, Bernardine Evaristo became the first black woman and the first black British writer to achieve the feat.
  • Also, 79-year-old Canadian author Margaret Atwood became the oldest to win Booker Prize.
  • Margaret Atwood is the second women author to win the Booker Award twice and fourth overall writer.She had her first in 2000 for ‘The Blind Assassin’.

Booker Prize:

  • The Booker Prize awards any novel originally written in English and published in the UK and Ireland in the year of the prize, regardless of the nationality of their author.
  • The prize was first awarded in 1969. In 2018 Northern Irish writer Anna Burns won the Booker Prize for ‘Milkman’.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.