Sunil Chhetri named AIFF Player of Year for sixth time

Question: Recently, who has been named the Men’s Footballer of the Year by AIFF?
(a) Bhaichung Bhutia
(b) I M Vijayan
(c) Sunil Chhetri
(d) Sandesh Jhingan
Answer: (c)
Related facts:
  • Talismanic Indian captain Sunil Chhetri was named as the AIFF Men’s Footballer of the Year for a record-extending sixth time on 9th July, 2019. 
  • The All India Football Federation (AIFF) is the governing body of association football in India.
  • The 34-year-old striker, who has been in peak form in the last couple of years, has earlier won the honour in 2007, 2011, 2013, 2014 and 2017.
  • He currently plays for Bengaluru FC in the Indian Super League.
  • Chhetri is currently the second highest international goal scorers among active players with 70 strikes to his name, behind Cristiano Ronaldo (149). He has gone past Messi (68), who is third in the list, during the 2019 Intercontinental Cup opener against Tajikistan.
  • Chhetri is the most capped player of the country with 109 matches, ahead of former captain Bhaichung Bhutia (107).
  • India midfielder Abdul Samad was named the AIFF Emerging Men’ Player of the Year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.