South Asia Wildlife Enforcement Network

South Asia Wildlife Enforcement Network

Question South Asia Wildlife Enforcement Network (SAWEN), a Regional network is comprised of how many countries in South Asia?
(a) 8
(b) 7
(c) 6
(d) 5
Ans (a)
Related facts:

  • On 13 April 2016 the Union Cabinet chaired has given its approval for India adopting the Statute of the South Asia Wildlife Enforcement Network (SAWEN) and India and becoming its formal member.
  • This will help in strengthen ties with the member countries in controlling the trans-boundary wildlife crime through communication, coordination, collaboration, capacity building and cooperation in the region.
  • SAWEN is a Regional network is comprised of eight countries in South Asia: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
  • It aims at working as a strong regional inter-governmental body for combating wildlife crime by attempting common goals and approaches for combating illegal trade in the region.
  • Adoption of SAWEN statute envisions India being part of the regional inter-governmental body in combating wildlife crime in the region and beyond.

Following objectives have been set to attain the goal:

  • To take initiatives for bringing harmonization and standardization in laws and policies of member countries concerning conservation of fauna and flora;
  • To document the trend of poaching and illegal trade, and related threats to the natural biodiversity within and across countries in the region;
  • To strengthen institutional responses to combat wildlife crime by promoting research and information sharing, training and capacity building, technical support, sharing experiences and outreach; and
  • To encourage member countries to prepare and implement their National Action Plans in curbing wildlife crime and to collaborate towards effective implementation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.