Shri Ajay Narayan Jha joins as Member Finance Commission

Shri Ajay Narayan Jha joins as a Member Finance Commission

Question: Recently who joined as Member of 15th Finance Commission?
(a) Shakti Kanta Das
(b) Ajay Narayan Jha
(c) N. K. Singh
(d) Y.V. Reddy
Answer: (b)
Related facts:

  • Ajay Narayan Jha joined the 15th Finance Commission as its Member.
  • Ajay Narayan Jha replaced Shri Shakti Kanta Das. Shri Shakti Kanta Das who had resigned as a Member of the Commission after being appointed as Governor, Reserve Bank of India.
  • Shri Jha, a 1982 batch IAS officer of Manipur Cadre, was the Finance Secretary to the Government of India. Shri Jha had also served as Secretary to the 14th Finance Commission which was headed by former RBI Governor, Shri Y.V. Reddy.
  • The 15th Finance Commission was constituted by a Presidential Order in November, 2017 under the Chairmanship of Shri N. K. Singh to decide the formula for devolution of revenue between Centre and States, for a period of 5 years – April, 2020 to March, 2025.

By Siddharth


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.