SATH Programme

SATH Programme

Question: SATH Programme has been launched by …
(a) Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers welfare
(b) Ministry of Health and Family Welfare
(c) Human Resource Development Ministry
(d) NITI Aayog
Ans: (d)

  • On June 10, 2017, NITI Aayog launched SATH (Sustainable Action for Transforming Human capital) programme with the State Governments.
  • SATH is a program to initiate transformation in education and health sectors for this it aims to identify and build three future ‘role model’ states for health systems.
  • NITI will work in close collaboration with their state machinery to design a robust roadmap of intervention and develop a program governance structure.
  • To select the three model states, NITI defined a three-stage process – expression of interest, presentations by the states and assessment of commitment to health sector reforms.
  • NITI invited all states and UTs to participate in the program. Sixteen states expressed prima facie interest, of which fourteen made their presentations. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chandigarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh presented their project proposal to a Committee headed by Member of NITI Aayog, Bibek Debroy.
  • Of these fourteen states, five have been shortlisted. Subsequently, three will be selected on the basis of further evaluations and objective assessment of criteria affecting the potential for impact and likelihood of success. Metrics such as MMR, IMR, incidence of malaria and others have been considered for determining potential impact while density of doctors and nurses, compliance to IPHS norms are some of the metrics used to determine likelihood of success.
  • The program will be implemented by NITI along with McKinsey & Company and IPE Global consortium after the signing of MoUs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.