Sasakawa Award 2019

Sasakawa Award 2019
Question: Who has been awarded the prestigious Sasakawa Award 2019 recently?
(a) PK Mishra
(b) Kailash Satyarthi
(c) Arundhati Roy
(d) Teesta Sitalwad
Answer: (a)
Related facts:
  • United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) conferred Sasakawa Award 2019 for Disaster Risk Reduction to Dr. Pramod Kumar Mishra, Additional Principal Secretary to Prime Minister of India on 16th May, 2019.
  • The award was announced at the Award Ceremony during the ongoing 6th Session of Global Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (GPDRR) 2019 at Geneva. A high-level Indian delegation led by Dr. P K Mishra attended the function (from 13th May to 17th May, 2019) in Geneva, Switzerland. 
  • Dr. P. K. Mishra received the 2019 Sasakawa award in recognition of his long-term dedication to improve the resilience of communities most exposed to disasters that included enhancing the safety net of the socially and economically marginalized.

Sasakawa Award:

  • The United Nation’s Sasakawa Award is the most prestigious international award in the area of Disaster Risk Management. 
  • It was instituted more than 30 years ago and is jointly organized by the UNDRR and the Nippon Foundation. A total grant of USD 50,000 is distributed among the winners which can be either organizations or individuals.
  • The theme of the 2019 Sasakawa award was “Building Inclusive and Resilient Societies”. UNDRR received more than 61 nominations from 31 countries for the 2019 award.
  • GPDRR is a biennial multi-stakeholder forum established by the UN General Assembly to review progress, share knowledge and discuss the latest developments and trends in reducing disaster risk.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.