Power Ministry administers oath of office to New CERC Member

Power Ministry Administers oath of office to New CERC Member

Question: Who has been appointed as new Member of CERC?
(a) Indu Shekhar Jha
(b) Lal Chharliana Pachuau
(c) Dr. T.C.A. Anant
(d) Dr. Lal Charan Singh
Answer: (a)
Related facts:

  • Indu Shekhar Jha has been appointed as a new member of Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) on 21st January 2019.
  • The oath ceremony was administered by Union Minister of State for Power and New & Renewable Energy Mr. R.K. Singh.
  • Prior to this he was holding the post of CMD, Powergrid Corporation of India Limited (PGCIL) since 2015.

Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC):

  • CERC is established by Government of India under the Electricity Regulatory Commission (ERC) Act 1998.
  • CERC is the central Commission for the purposes of the Electricity Act, 2003 which has repealed the ERC Act 1998.
  • The Commission consists of a Chairperson and four other members including chairperson of Central Electricity Authority who is Ex-officio member of the Commission.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.