New Chief Information Commissioner

New Chief Information Commissioner

Question: Who is appointed as the new Chief Information Commissioner?
(a) AK Sikri
(b) Yashwardhan Kumar Sinha
(c) Sudhir Bhargava
(d) Suresh Chandra
Answer: (c)
Related facts:

  • On 1 January 2019, Sudhir Bhargava took over as the new Chief Information Commissioner of India. President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office to Mr. Bhargava at the swearing-in ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan.
  • Along with him, four new members namely Yashvardhan Kumar Sinha, Vanaja N Sarna, Neeraj Kumar Gupta and Suresh Chandra were also administered the oath of office of the Information Commissioner, Central Information Commission (CIC).
  • With these fresh appointments, the total number of Information Commissioners went to seven. Four vacancies still remain. Central Information Commission (CIC) is the highest body of appeal under the Right to Information Act.
  • Mr. Bhargava is a retired bureaucrat and was formerly Secretary to the Ministry of Social Justice. He will be the ninth Chief of CIC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.