Jnanpith award-2015

Jnanpith Award-2015

Question: Recently who has been selected for the 51st Jnanpith award for his contribution to the Indian literature?

(a) Ramdarash Mishra
(b) Bhalchandra Nemade
(c) Rashiq Shah
(d) Raghuveer Chaudhary

Ans (d)

Related facts:

  • Eminent Gujarati litterateur RaghuveerChaudhary was on 29 December 2015 selected for the 51st Jnanpith award for his contribution to the Indian literature.
  • The decision was taken in a meeting of the Jnanpith Selection Board chaired by noted scholar Namwar Singh.
  • Other members of the selection board are Shamim Hanfi, Harish Trivedi, Suranjan Das, Ramakant Rath, Chandrakant Patil, Alok Rai, Dinesh Misra and Leeladhar Mandloi.
  • Chaudhary is the fourth Gujarati litterateur to bag this prestigious award after Uma Shankar Joshi (1967), Pannalal Patel (1985) and Rajendra Shah (2001).
  • Born in 1938 in Gujarat, Raghuveer Chaudhary is a novelist, poet, critic, a prominent figure on contemporary Gujarati literary scene and a Gandhian.
  • He was a teacher at the Gujarat University until his retirement in 1998.
  • He authored more than 80 books and some of his notable novels include Amrita, Venu Vatsala, Purvarang and Laagni Samjyaa Vinaa Chuuta Padvanu.
  • He also had worked as a columnist for numerous newspapers such as Sandesh, Janmabhumi, Nirikshaka and DivyaBhaskar.
  • He has received numerous awards including SahityaAkademi Award for his novel Trilogy “Uparvas” in 1977.
  • He also received Sauhard Samman from Uttar Pradesh Hindi Sansthaan for contribution to Hindi literature in 1990.
  • In 2014 the 50th Jnanpith award was awarded to the Marathi literature writer Bhalchandra Nemade.
  • Jnanpith award was instituted in 1961 and is presented annually by Bharatiya Jnanpith trust founded by the Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain family that owns the Times of India newspaper group.
  • It is bestowed upon any Indian citizen who writes in any 22 official languages of India mentioned in VIII Schedule of Constitution of India.
  • It includes cash prize of 11 lakh rupees, a citation plaque and a bronze replica of goddess Saraswati.
  • First Jnanpith award was given to litterateur SankaraKurup of Malyalam literature in 1965.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.