ISRO Chairman K Sivan awarded the Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Award

Question: Recently Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman K Sivan was conferred Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Award by which state government?
(a) Tamil Nadu
(b) Andhra Pradesh
(c) Uttar Pradesh
(d) Odisha
Answer :(a)
Related facts:
  • Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Chairman K Sivan has been conferred Dr APJ Abdul Kalam Award by the Tamil Nadu government.
  • Mr Sivan received the award at the Independence Day celebrations at Fort St George in Chennai.
  • The award is given in recognition of his stellar work in promotion of science and technology.
  • Mr Sivan’s leadership led to the historical achievement of most successful GSLV flight with indigenous cryogenic stage.
  • ISRO successfully launched Chandrayaan 2, the second mission to the moon on July 22 and he was the chief architect of SITARA, a 6D trajectory simulation software.

The award:

  • The Kalam award is to honour those who work for promoting scientific growth, humanities and students’ welfare.
  • The award carries 8 gm gold medalRs. five lakh in cash and a citation.
  • The first Kalam award was presented by Jayalalithaa in 2015 to ISRO scientist N Valarmathi and it is given on Independence Day every year.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.