ICC awards-2017

icc awards 2017

Question: Who has been announced as the ‘Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy’ (Best Cricketer) under the International Cricket Council’s annual awards?
(a) Joe Root
(b) Ravichandran Ashwin
(c) Virat Kohli
(d) Alistair Cooke
Answer: (c)
Related Facts:

  • On January 18th, 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) annual Awards -2017′ were announced.
  • The prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, for the best player of the year was announced to be given to Indian cricket team’s captain Virat Kohli.
  • Award for Best Female Players of the Year (Rachel Hayo Finalult) will be awarded to Australia’s Ellyse Perry.
  • Other awards holders are as follows:
  • Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
  • Test Player of the Year: Steve Smith (Australia)
  • ODI Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
  • Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal (India)
  • Emerging Player of the Year: Hasan Ali (Pakistan)
  • Associate Player of the Year: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
  • Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
  • Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  • Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)
  • Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Beth Mooney (Australia)
  • Women’s Emerging Player of the Year: Beth Mooney (Australia)
  • Spirit of Cricket: Anya Shrubsole (England)
  • ICC Fan’s Moment of the Year: Pakistan stuns India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017
  • India’s Virat Kohli has been selected as the captain of the men’s Test and ODI team of the ICC.
  • Significantly, this is the second occasion when Virat Kohli was declared the best ODI player of the year.
  • Prior to this, he received this honor in the year 2012.
  • The Indian players included in the Test Team – Virat Kohli (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara and R. Ashwin.
  • Indian players included in the one-team team – Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma and Jaspreet Bumrah (12th player).
  • England’s Heather Knight has been selected as the captain of the ICC Women’s ODI team, and includes Mithali Raj and Ekta Bisht of India.
  • Captain of ICC Women’s Twenty20 Team West Indies Stephanie Taylor has been selected and includes Harmanpreet Kaur of India and Ekta Bisht.
  • Players for the awards were selected on the basis of the performance made during the mid-term of 1 September, 2016 and December 31, 2017.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.