Dr. T.C.A Anant appointed as Member of UPSC

Question: Who administers oath to Member of UPSC?
(a) Chairman, UPSC
(b) President of India
(c) Chief Justice of India
(d) None of these
Answer: (a)
Related facts:

  • On 14 January 2019, Dr. T.C.A Anant was administered the oath of office and secrecy of Member of UPSC by Chairman of UPSC Arvind Saxena Dr. Anant is a former Chief Statistician of India and Secretary, Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation.
  • A member of a Public Service Commission shall hold office for a term of six years from the date on which he enters upon his office or until he attains, in the case of the Union Commission, the age of sixty-five years, and in the case of a State Commission or a Joint Commission, the age of sixty-two years, whichever is earlier
  • As on 14 January 2019, the commission has strength of ten members including the chairman.
  • Other Members of UPSC are Prof. Pradeep Kumar Joshi, Sh. Bhim Sain Bassi, Air Marshal A.S. Bhonsle (Retd.), Ms Sujata Mehta, Dr. Manoj Soni, Ms. Smita Nagraj, Ms. M. Sathiyavathy, Sh. Bharat Bhushan Vyas.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.