Asian of the Year-2018

Question: Who among the following has been conferred Asian of the Year Award 2018?

  1. Vijay Varma
  2. P Rajkumar
  3. Ng Kok Choong

Choose the correct options of the following:
(a) 1 and 2 only
(b) 2 and 3 only
(c) 2 only
(d) All of the above
Answer: (d)
Related facts:

  • Four men of courage and two disaster relief organisations collectively labelled as The First Responders were conferred The Straits Times Asians of the Year 2018.
  • Indian Navy Commander (Pilot) Vijay Varma and Captain (Pilot) P Rajkumar have been awarded ‘Asian of the year’ in Indonesia for their selfless service and bravery in the rescue operations during the devastating floods of Kerala.
  • Commander Vijay Varma was praised for rescuing a pregnant lady who gave birth just after being airlifted to safety and Captain P. Rajkumar saved the life of 26 people who were stuck at a rooftop in Kochi.
  • Other awardees include late Ng Kok Choong of Singapore and Dr Sutopo Purwo Nugroho of Indonesia. Two disaster relief organizations Singapore’s Mercy Relief and the Jakarta-based Asean Coordinating Centre for Humanitarian Assistance on Disaster Management (AHA Centre) were also awarded.
  • This award was inaugurated in the year 2012 and is given annually to a person, an institute or an organization, who/which has impacted the Asian affairs by newspaper Strait Times.

Ramayan Upadhyay


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.