Another place in India is included in UNESCO World Heritage List

Question- On June 30th, 2018, which Indian site has been included in the UNESCO’s World Heritage Site list?
(a) Victorian and Art Deco Ensemble of Mumbai
(b) Historical fort of Allahabad
(c) Santiniketan
(d) Mughal Gardens
Answer: (a)
Related Facts:

  • During June 24 to July 4, 2018, the 42nd meeting of the World Heritage Committee of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was organized in Manama, Bahrain.
  • During the session, the Committee inscribed 19 siteson the World Heritage List (13 cultural sites, three natural and three mixed sites, i.e. both natural and cultural).
  • It also approved the extension of one natural site.
  • The World Heritage List now numbers 1092 sites in 167 countries.
  • During this meeting, on June 30th, 2018, 4 cultural sites of the world were included in UNESCO’s ‘World Heritage List’.
  • The Victorian Gothic and Art Deco Ensembles of Mumbai inscribed in the World Heritage Sites is the third site in Mumbai after the Elephanta Caves and Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminal Railway Station (Victoria Terminal).
  • It led to the construction of ensembles of public buildings bordering the Oval Maidan open space, first in the Victorian Neo-Gothic style and then, in the early 20thcentury, in the Art Deco idiom.
  • The Victorian ensemble includes Indian elements suited to the climate, including balconies and verandas. T
  • The Art Deco edifices, with their cinemas and residential buildings, blend Indian design with Art Deco imagery, creating a unique style that has been described as Indo-Deco.
  • It is known that before this Ahmedabad city was recognized as the first global heritage city of India in the cultural category in the 41st meeting of the Committee on World Heritage Site of UNESCO held in Karkow Poland, in July 2017.
  • Ahmedabad was the first Indian and third city in Asia to be included in this list.
  • Presently, 37 sites in India have been included in UNESCO’s World Heritage List, out of which are 29 are in cultural category, 7 in natural category and 1 in mixed category.

See also the links below:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.