4th Annual Carnot Prize

Klienman Centre for Energy Policy at the University of Pennsylvania awards 4th annual Carnot Prize

Question: Name the Union Minister who received 4th annual Carnot Prize (2018) award held at the New Delhi?
(a) Piyush Goyal
(b) Nirmala Sitharaman
(c) Smriti Irani
(d) Ravi Shankar Prasad
Answer :(a)
Related facts:

  • On 30th January 2019, Piyush Goyal Minister of Railways & Coal and former Minister of Power, Coal, New & Renewable Energy and Mines (Government of India) received Carnot Prize 2018 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi. This is the 4th Annual Award of series.
  • As per Kleinman Center for Energy Policy,the Carnot Prize recognizes India’s solid footing to reach a 40% renewable mix by 2030.
  • This award has been conferred recognizing transformational changes in power sector—including the fast-track electrification of nearly 18,000 villages in some of the most remote and inaccessible parts of the country as well as rolling out a comprehensive power sector reform plan, the world’s largest LED bulb distribution program, and the world’s largest renewable energy expansion program under his tenure.
  • The Award money received will be donated to the International Solar Alliance to institute the Diwakar Award.

Carnot Prize:

  • Carnot Prize is annual recognition of Kleinman Center for Energy Policy at the University of Pennsylvania intended to honor those leading revolutions in energy policy to further progress and prosperity.
  • The award is named after French physicist Nicolas Sadi Carnot (Father of Thermodynamics).





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.