2019 Nansen Refugee Award

Question: Who has been conferred the 2019 Nansen Refugee Award?
(a) Azizbek Ashurov
(b) Filippo Grandi
(c) Danny Ocean
(d) Flèche Love
Answer: (a)
Related facts:

  • On 7th October 2019, Human rights lawyer from Kyrgyzstan Azizbek Ashurov was awarded the 2019 UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) prestigious Nansen Award.
  • The UNHCR hailed Azizbek Ashurov for helping Kyrgyzstan become the world’s first country to end statelessness, working through his organisation Ferghana Valley Lawyers Without Borders (FVLWB).
  • He and his organisation have helped more than 10,000 people gain Kyrgyz nationality after they became stateless following the dissolution of the Soviet Union.
  • The award comprised a commemorative Nansen medal and a cash prize of USD 150,000.

About UNHCR Nansen Award:

  • The UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award is awarded annually by the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) to an individual, group, or organization in recognition of outstanding service to the cause of refugees, displaced or stateless people.
  • It was established in 1954.
  • The award is named after the intrepid Norwegian polar explorer, statesman and Nobel Peace Prize laureate Fridtjof Nansen.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.