2019 Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health

Question: Who among the following won 2019 Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health?
(a) Dr Balram Bhargava
(b) Dr An Dong
(c) Dr Vinod Paul
(d) Dr Alireza Mesdaghinia
Answer: (a)
Related facts:
  • On 24th May, 2019, Professor Balram Bhargava, Director General of the Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR) has been conferred the Dr Lee Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health, 2019.
  • He has been recognised for his achievements as a clinician, innovator, researcher and trainer at the 72nd World Health Assembly in Geneva, Switzerland.
  • Prior to his appointment at ICMR, he was a Professor of cardiology at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi (AIIMS). 
  • The Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health is awarded to individuals, institutions, and governmental or non-governmental organizations that have made an outstanding contribution to public health. It was established in 2008.
  • The prize consists of a plaque from the Founder and a sum of money which will not exceed US$ 100 000.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.