17th Lok Sabha Election Results, 2019

17th Lok Sabha Election Results 2019
Question: Consider the following statements regarding 17th Lok Sabha:
(1) Bharatiya Janata Party got the most 303 seats
(2) The 17th Lok Sabha will see representation of 74 women MPs
(3) TMC’s Nusrat Jahan became the youngest MP
(4) Apart from Prime Minister Narendra Modi, other 57 MPs sworn in as Cabinet Ministers
Of the above; correct statement/s is/are:

(a) Only (1) & (4)
(b) Only (1) & (3)
(c) Only (1), (3) & (4)
(d)All of the above
Answer: (a)
Related facts:
  • On 30th May, 2019, Narendra Modi, leader of National Democratic Alliance sworn in as the Prime Minister of India for the second consecutive term.
  • President Ramnath Kovind administered the Oath of Office and Secrecy to Narendra Modi in the Rashtrapati Bhawan.
  • Besides 24 Cabinet ministers, 9 were sworn in as Minister of State with Independent charge and another 24 as Minister of State.
  • The function was attended by leaders from BIMSTEC countries (Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal including India) and foreign envoys, Governors, Chief Ministers, Opposition leaders, corporate heads and film stars.
  • In 2014, heads of SAARC countries were invited in the swearing-in ceremony.
  • On 23rd May, 2019, the Election Commission of India declared election results of 542 Lok Sabha constituencies held in seven phases (one constituency Vellore, Tamil Nadu election was postponed) in the country.
  • The number of seats won by seven National Parties are as follows:

    (i) Bharatiya Janata Party- 303

          (ii) Indian National Congress – 52

          (iii) All India Trinamool Congress- 22

          (iv) Bahujan Samaj Party – 10

          (v) Nationalist Congress Party – 05

          (vi) Communist Party of India- 02

          (vii) Communist Party of India (Marxist) – 03

  • While some of the major Regional Parties such as the Biju Janata Dal won 12 seats, Shiv Sena got 18 seats, Lok Jan Shakti Party secured 6 seats and Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party bagged 22 seats.
  • In this election, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) bagged 353 seats; United Progressive Alliance (UPA) got 92 while Others hold 97 seats.
  • In Uttar Pradesh, out of total 80 seats, Bharatiya Janata Party with its ally Apna Dal bagged 64 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party got 10 seats, Samajwadi Party won 5 seats while Indian National Congress secured 1 seat.
  • 17th Lok Sabha will see representation of highest ever 78 women MPs. Most 11 women MPs were elected each from Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.
  • Chandrani Murmu (25 years, 11 months and eight days old) became the youngest woman member in the Lok Sabha history. She was elected to the Lower House from the Keonjhar Lok Sabha constituency of Odisha.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.