16 State Governments Sign MoU with Textiles Ministry to Impart Skill Training to Workers

Question: Recently how many states have signed a Memorandum of Understanding ( MoU) under the Samarth scheme?
(a) 16 states
(b) 18 states
(c) 14 states
(d) 12 states
Answer :(a)
Related facts:
  • On August 14, 2019, Ministry of Textiles signed a Memorandum of Understanding with 16 State governments. 
  • The MoU signed to offer skill training programmes under the Samarth scheme.
  • Also, 18 States agreed to partner with the Ministry under Samarth. 
  • The Ministry has allocated Rs.35 lakh for the implementation of the scheme.
  • The States will nominate the agencies to implement the scheme.
  • The agencies will train 4 lakh people who will be placed at the textile units.

Training Programme:

  • The training programme will cover the entire value chain of the textiles sector. 
  • The training programme involves advanced technology oriented features like Aadhaar Based Biometric Attendance System (AEBAS), CCTV recording, dedicated Call Centre, Mobile App based Management Information System and on-line monitoring.

Samarth scheme:

  • The ‘Scheme for Capacity Building in Textile Sector (SCBTS)’ known as (Samarth), aims to skill the youth for gainful and sustainable employment in the textile sector.
  • It aims to promote self-employment, entrepreneurial development in traditional handloom, handicraft, jute, wool and silk segments.
  • The Samarth scheme was implemented from 2010 to 2017. The scheme functions under the Ministry of Textiles.
  • The Ministry of Textiles implemented the Integrated Skill Development Scheme with a target to provide 15 lakh additional skilled workers to the textiles sector by 2017. 
  • The Ministry has extended the scheme now. By March 18, 11.14 lakh persons were trained under the schema and 8.41 lakh persons were provided placement.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.