Rail projects inagurated in Andhra Pradesh

AP inks JV deal with Rlys to develop projects

Question: Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu has been elected to the Rajya Sabha from which of the following state?
(a) Punjab
(b) Haryana
(c) Andhra Pradesh
(d) Karnataka
Ans: (c)
Related facts:

  • On 30 December 2016; Andhra Pradesh government signed a memorandum of understanding with the Indian Railways for setting up a joint venture company for taking up major rail projects in the state.
  • Apart from laying new railway lines, the JV will develop 21 railway stations in the state on par with airports.
  • Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu took part in the programme through a video link from New Delhi.
  • The programs announced at the ceremony are:
    1. Development at least 21 railway stations in the state akin to airports.
    2. Nadikudi-Srikalahasti new railway line while free high-speed WiFi facility was launched in Guntur railway station.
    3. The Railway Minister also flagged off a new double-decker train between Tirupati and Visakhapatnam
    4. The renovated route-relay interlocking system at Vijayawada railway junction was also dedicated to the nation.
    5. New hostel building of the Electric Traction Training Centre at Satyanarayanapuram was inaugurated.
  • It should be known that the Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu is a member of Rajya Sabha from the Andhra Pradesh state.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Skip to toolbar