सामयिक विषय: Miscellaneous

Bureau of Indian standards (BIS) Act 2016

Bureau of Indian standards (BIS) Act 2016

  • A new Bureau of Indian standards (BIS) Act 2016 which was notified on 22nd March, 2016, has been brought into force with effect from 12th October, 2017.
  • The Act establishes the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) as the National Standards Body of India.
  • The Act has enabling provisions for the Government to bring under compulsory certification regime any goods or article of any scheduled industry, process, system or service which it considers necessary in the public interest or for the protection of human, animal or plant health, safety of the environment, or prevention of unfair trade practices, or national security.
  • The new Act also allows multiple type of simplified conformity assessment schemes including self-declaration of conformity against a standard which will give simplified options to manufacturers to adhere to the standards and get certificate of conformity.
  • The Act enables the Central Government to appoint any authority/agency, in addition to the BIS, to verify the conformity of products and services to a standard and issue certificate of conformity.
  • Further, there is provision for repair or recall, including product liability of the products bearing Standard Mark but not conforming to the relevant Indian Standard.


Vice-President inaugurates 'Swachhta Hi Seva' and 'A Crusade for Toilets' Programme

“Swachhta Hi Seva” and “Shouchalayakkagi Samara” (A Crusade for Toilets)

Question: At which of the following places Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu inaugurate “Swachhta Hi Seva” and “Shouchalayakkagi Samara” (A Crusade for Toilets) Programme?
(a) Dharwad
(b) Hubli
(c) Bangalore
(d) Jaipur
North- (b) 
Related Facts:

  • On September 26th, 2017, The Vice President, Shri M Venkaiah Naidu, today inaugurated the “Swachhta Hi Seva” and “Shouchalayakkagi Samara” (A Crusade for Toilets) Programme at Hubli, Karnataka.
  • Later in Konnur Village, Naragund Taluk, Gadag District, he initiatied the activity of ‘Tippe Samskarane’ (Waste Processing) and a “Shudda Kudiyuva Neerina Ghataka” (Purified Drinking Water Plant).
  • On the occasion, the Vice President also honoured 13 Village Panchayat Presidents and the Naragund Taluka Panchayat President, the achievers of “Shouchalayakkagi Samara”.
  • He also declared the rural areas of Naragund Taluka as an ODF block.
  • It is notable that the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, in his recent visit to Uttar Pradesh, had appreciated the naming of a toilet as “Izzat Ghar”.


OBC Creamy Layer Bar Raised To Rs 8 Lakh P.A.

OBC Creamy layer Income Limit Increased

Question: Recently, the ‘creamy layer’ ceiling for OBC reservation has been raised by Central Government to-
(a) 6 lakhs
(b) 7.5 lakhs
(c) 8 lakhs
(d) 9 lakhs
Answer: (c)
Related Facts:

  • On August 23rd, 2017, the Central Government raised the ‘creamy layer’ ceiling for OBC reservation from the existing Rs 6 lakh to 8 lakh rupees per annum.
  • For the first time in 1993, the ceiling limit for the OBC category was fixed at Rs 1 lakh.
  • This increase has been occurred for the fourth time.
  • Earlier, it was raised thrice to Rs 2.5 lakh in 2004, Rs 4.5 lakh in 2008 and Rs 6 lakh in 2013.
  • Union cabinet approved a proposal for setting up of a Commission under article 340 of the Constitution to examine the issue of sub-categorization of the Other Backward Classes (OBCs).
  • The Commission shall submit its report within 12 weeks from the date of appointment of the Chairperson of the Commission.
  • The proposed terms of references of the Commission are as follows:
    (i) To examine the extent of inequitable distribution of benefits of reservation among the castes/ communities included in the broad category of OBCs, with reference to the OBCs included in the Central list.
    (ii) To work out the mechanism, criteria, norms and parameters, in a scientific approach, for sub-categorization within such OBCs, and,
    (iii) To take up the exercise of identifying the respective castes/communities/ sub-castes/ synonyms in the Central List of OBCs and classifying them into their respective sub-categories.
  • It is noteworthy that Nine States of the country viz., Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Puducherry, Karnataka, Haryana, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Bihar, Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu have already carried out sub-categorization of Other Backward Classes.



Skip to toolbar