सामयिक विषय: Awards & Honors

48thDadasahebPhalke Award for the year 2016

48th Dadasaheb Phalke Award-2006

Question: Who was recently announced to be awarded the Dada Saheb Phalke Award of the year 2016?
(a) Salim Khan
(b) Nitin Mukesh
(c) Prem Chopra
(d) Kasinadhuni Viswanath
Ans: (d)
Related facts

  • On April 24, 2017; the announcement was made to confer the 48th Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2016 to the famous film director and actor Kasinadhuni Viswanath.
  • As a director, he directed 50 films from Tamil, Telugu and Hindi cinema from the year 1965.
  • His famous Hindi films include Sargam, Kamchor, Sanjog, Jaag Utha Insaan, Ishwar, Sur Sangam, Shubhkaamna, Sangeet and Dhanwaan.
  • He was awarded the Padma Shri award in the year 1992 by the Indian government for his contribution in film production.
  • Apart from this, he has been honored with 5 National Film Awards, 20 Nandi Awards (by the Andhra Pradesh Government) and 10 Filmfare Awards including Lifetime Achievement Award.
  • His national award winner ‘SwathiMuthayam’ was the official film of India in 59th Oscar Awards.
  • He was born on February 19, 1930 in Andhra Pradesh.
  • It is important that Dada Saheb Phalke Award is given by the Indian Government for outstanding contribution in the progress and development of Indian cinema.
  • The award was started from Dada Saheb Phalke birth centenary year 1969.
  • Devikaraani was the first recipient of this award.
  • Under this award, a gold lotus, cash amount of Rs 10 lakh and a shawl are provided.
  • This award will be given by President Pranab Mukherjee at a function organized at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi on May 3, 2017.
  • It is worth mentioning that the year-2015, 47th Dadasaheb Phalke Award was given to the famous film actor and director Manoj Kumar.

Related Links:-

Aniruddhan Vasudevan's 'One Part Woman', a translation of Perumal Murugan's controversial Tamil novel 'Maadhorubaagan',wins Translation Sahitya Akademi award

Aniruddhan Vasudevan

Question: Sahitya Akademi has recently announced to give the Sahitya Akademi Translation Award-2016 Aniruddhan Vasudevan for translation in which of the following languages?
(a) Hindi language
(b) Malayalam language
(c) Tamil language
(d) English language
Answer- (d)
Related facts:

  • On April 18th, 2017, Sahitya Akademi has announced to give translation prize in English 2016 to Aniruddhan Vasudevan.
  • Vasudevan will receive this prize for his ‘One Part Woman’, a translation of Perumal Murugan’s controversial Tamil novel Maadhorubaaga.
  • The selection was based on the recommendations made by a jury comprising Malayalam poet and critic K.
  • Satchidanandan, writer Githa Hariharan and translator and historian A.R. Vankatachalapathy.
  • The prize is awarded to books first published during five years immediately preceding the year of the award (i.e. between 1st January, 2010 and 31stDecember, 2014).
  • Vasudevan will be felicitated with the award along with the other winners of the Sahitya Akademi award in 23 languages at a special function in June 2017.
  • Prize consists of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs 50,000.
  • Translation prize 2016 in Malayalam language will be given to N.K. Desam for his translation Geethanjali by Rabindra Nath Tagore.


The Golf Industry Association (GIA) awards 2017

Golf Industry Association Award-2013

Question-Winners of the Golf Industry Association Award 2017 include:
(1) Aditi Ashok
(2) Ali Sher
(3) Shiv Prasad Chaurasia
(a) Only 1 and 2
(b) Only 2 and 3
(c) Only 1 and 3
(d) 1, 2 and 3 all
Ans: (d)
Related facts:-

  • On April 20, 2017; Second Golf Industry Award was announced by the Industry Association in Gurugram (Haryana).
  • The names of the winners in different classes are as follows:
  • Outstanding Playing Career – Ali Sher
  • Pioneer in Golf Coaching – Simran Singh
  • Best New Golf Course – Glade One Golf Course, Ahmedabad
  • Digital Initiative Award-Golfing Indian
  • Best Golf Tour Operator – My Golf Tours
  • Best Player of the Year (Men) 2016 – Shiv Prasad Chaurasia
  • Excellent achievement as a player – Aditi Ashok
  • It is notable that in 1991, Ali Sher became the first Indian professional golfer to win the prestigious Indian Open title.
  • He was also given the Arjuna Award in the year 1991.

Related links:-

Skip to toolbar