सामयिक विषय: Hockey

Hockey World League Round 2

Women’s Hockey World League

Question: Indian women’s team defeated which of the following teams in the Hockey World League Round 2?
(a) Pakistan
(b) Chile
(c) Canada
(d) Belarus
Answer- (b)
Related facts:

  • On April 9th, 2017, the Indian women’s team India defeated Chile to win the Women’s Hockey World League Round 2 held in West Vancouver and qualify for the World League Semi-final.
  • The Indian women’s team stormed into the final of Hockey World League Round 2 after a 4-0 thrashing of Belarus in the semi-finals.
  • The final of Women’s Hockey World League 2016-17 will be played in Auckland, New Zealand from November 17 to 26, 2017, while semi-finals will be played in June-July 2017 in Brussels (Belgium) and Johannesburg (South Africa).


Hockey India League 2017

Hockey India League-2017

Question: Who has awarded with the title of “Most Valuable Player” of the tournament in the recently held Hockey India League-2017?
(a) Florian Fuchs
(b) Moritz Fürste
(c) Harmanpreet Singh
(d) None of these
Ans: (a)
Related facts:

  • The 2017 Hockey India League, known as Coal India Hockey India League for sponsorship reasons, was the fifth season of the Hockey India League.
  • It was held between 21 January and 26 February 2017.
  • Six teams (Delhi Waveriders, Kalinga Lancers, Dabang Mumba, Punjab Warriors, Ranchi Rays and Uttar Pradesh Wizards) played 34 matches in six venues.
  • The final match was played in Sector 42 Stadium, Chandigarh.
  • Result of the tournament:
  • Kalinga Lancers beat Dabang Mumbai by 4–1 in the final to win the title.
  • This was their first title.
  • Kalinga Lancers, the Winner of Coal India Hockey India League won a prize money of Rs 2 crores 50 lakhs.
  • Dabang Mumbai, the 1st Runner up of Coal India Hockey India League won a prize money of Rs 1 crore 25 lakhs.
  • Uttar Pradesh Wizards, the 2nd Runner up of Coal India Hockey India League, was awarded prize money of Rs 75 lakhs.
  • The Fair Play Trophy was awarded to the Kalinga Lancers.
  • Florian Fuchs of Dabang Mumbai won the Hero Achiever Award for Upholding the Spirit of Hockey and also received a prize money of Rs 10 lakhs.
  • Moritz Fuerste and Glenn Turner of Kalinga Lancers were declared joint winners of the Dhruv Batra Maximum Goal Awards and were presented with prize money of Rs 20 lakhs .
  • Harmanpreet Singh won the Ponty Chadha Upcoming player of the tournament award and was presented with a prize money of Rs 20 lakhs.
  • Florian Fuchs of Dabang Mumbai was declared the Most Valuable Player of Tournament and was awarded a prize money of Rs. 50 lakhs.
  • Kalinga Lancers’ Glenn Turner and Moritz Fürste finished as the tournament’s joint top-scorers with 12 goals each.


The 121st All India Beighton Cup

All India Beighton Cup

Question: Which of the following team won the All India Beighton Cup title?
(a) Indian Oil
(b) Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL)
(c) Punjab National Bank
(d) None of the Above
Related facts:

  • The 121st All India Beighton Cup Hockey Tournament was held between December 16-27 at SAI Centre in Salt Lake.
  • It was organised by Bengal Hockey Association (BHA).
  • Indian Oil won their fifth All India Beighton Cup title by edging past Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL) 5-3 in the final.
  • Indian Oil’s Kothajit Singh was adjudged the man of the tournament.
  • Bharat Petroleum, led by Sukhwinder Singh while Indian Oil was led by Deepak Thakur.


Skip to toolbar