सामयिक विषय: Sports Personality

Priyanka Panwar, Asian Games gold-winning athlete, faces 8-year ban for doping

Eight year Ban on Indian female runner

Question- Who amongst the following is the runner banned for 8 years by the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) on September 11th, 2017?
(a) Man deep Kaur
(b) Tintu Lukka
(c) Puvamma
(d) Priyanka Pawar
Answer: (d)
Related Facts:

  • The disciplinary panel of the National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) banned the Indian runner Priyanka Pawar for eight years.
  • Priyanka’s samples had tested positive for mephentermine (a stimulant) which is a restricted force-enhancing drug.
  • This sample was taken during last year’s inter-state athletics championship (Hyderabad) in June-July and since then there was temporary restriction on Priyanka.
  • Suspension will be effective from July 2016.
  • As per the NADA code, athletes caught for a second anti- doping rule violation get a maxium suspension from eight years to maximum life ban.
  • Earlier, Priyanka had tested positive for anabolic steroids in the dope tests conducted in 2011.
  • At that time she was banned for two years.
  • Priyanka was part of the Indian women’s team clinched the gold medal for India in the women’s 4x400m relay event at the Asian Games-2014.



Goodwill ambassador for the Handicap International

Question: Which international footballer has been appointed as the new goodwill ambassador of the Handicap International Organization?
(a) Lionel Messi
(b) Cristiano Ronaldo
(c) Paul Vogba
(d) Neymar Jr.
Ans: (d)
Related facts:

  • On August 15th, 2017, the Brazilian soccer player Neymar Jr. became the new International Ambassador of the award-winning international NGO Handicap International.
  • Neymar will provide support to the organization in empowering the most vulnerable people in the world, people with disabilities living in poor countries, victims of conflicts and natural disasters.
  • As his first action, Neymar Jr. as an ambassador of Handicap International sends a message of support to people with disabilities across the world.
  • Handicap International is officially founded in 1982 to respond to the needs of 6,000 Cambodian amputees living in refugee camps along the Thai border.
  • Handicap International (NGO) is headquartered in France and Belgium.
  • The event was followed by a press conference hosted by the United Nations Office in Geneva.


Sandeep Patil named brand ambassador of indoor cricket team


Question: On July 12th, 2017, Former Indian batsman Sandeep Patil has been chosen as the brand ambassador of the Indian indoor cricket team.World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) World Cup is scheduled to be held in which of the following countries?
(a) India
(b) Australia
(c) New Zealand
(d) United Arab Emirates
Answer- (d)
Related facts:

  • On July 12, 2017, former Indian batsman Sandeep Patil was chosen as the brand ambassador of the Indian indoor cricket team.
  • Patil will be the face of the team in the lead-up to the World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) World Cup, to be held from September 16-23 at the Insportz Club in Dubai.
  • The week-long tournament will be held in partnership with Cricket Australia (CA) and Emirates Cricket Board (ECB).
  • In the 10th edition of the Indoor World Cup, besides India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Malaysia and UAE (host nation) will participate.
  • The Indian team will be managed and operated by the XLR8 India.
  • World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) is headquartered in Brisbane, Australia.


Skip to toolbar