सामयिक विषय: Sports Personality

Sandeep Patil named brand ambassador of indoor cricket team


Question: On July 12th, 2017, Former Indian batsman Sandeep Patil has been chosen as the brand ambassador of the Indian indoor cricket team.World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) World Cup is scheduled to be held in which of the following countries?
(a) India
(b) Australia
(c) New Zealand
(d) United Arab Emirates
Answer- (d)
Related facts:

  • On July 12, 2017, former Indian batsman Sandeep Patil was chosen as the brand ambassador of the Indian indoor cricket team.
  • Patil will be the face of the team in the lead-up to the World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) World Cup, to be held from September 16-23 at the Insportz Club in Dubai.
  • The week-long tournament will be held in partnership with Cricket Australia (CA) and Emirates Cricket Board (ECB).
  • In the 10th edition of the Indoor World Cup, besides India, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Sri Lanka, Singapore, Malaysia and UAE (host nation) will participate.
  • The Indian team will be managed and operated by the XLR8 India.
  • World Indoor Cricket Federation (WICF) is headquartered in Brisbane, Australia.


Raninder Singh re-elected National Rifle Association of India president

Election of the Indian National Rifle Association

Question: In the recently concluded Indian National Rifle Association elections, who was re-elected the President of the Association?
(A) KN Lion god
(B) Raninder Singh
(C) D.V. Sitaram
(D) Kiran Kumar
Ans: (b)
Related facts:-

  • On 8 July, 2017 Election of the Indian National Rifle Association (NRAI) was held at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium, Mohali.
  • Current President Raninder Singh was re-elected for the four-year term.
  • Raninder Singh defeated the President of Uttar Pradesh Rifle Association Shyam Singh Yadav by a margin of 89-1 votes in the election.
  • In the elections, D.V Sitaram was unanimously elected general secretary for the second term, while Karan Kumar was elected as treasurer.
  • MP from Odisha K. N. Singh Deo was elected as Senior Vice President unanimously.

Related Links:-

Kavita Devi Becomes The First Indian Woman To Participate In WWE Event

Kavita Devi

Question: Who is the first Indian woman wrestler to participate in World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) in July, 2017?
(a) Sakhi Malik
(b) Geeta Phogat
(c) Babita Kumari
(d) Kavita Devi
Ans: (d)
Related facts:-

  • South Asian Games gold medal winner Indian wrestler Kavita Devi will be the first woman wrestler to be part of the WWE Tournament.
  • She was selected for the Mae Young Classic competition in the Dubai Tryout held in April, 2017.
  • South Asian Games gold medalist Kavita has won gold medal in weightlifting
  • The Mae Young Classic Tournament, organized for the first time for women by WWE, will be held in Orlando, Florida (USA) during 13-14 July, 2017.
  • The tournament has been named after WWE’s former superstar Mae Young, who is also included in the ‘Hall of Fame’.
  • She has received training by former WWE Champion The Great Khali at his training and promotion academy in Punjab.

Related Links:-


Skip to toolbar