सामयिक विषय: Football

2016 SAFF Women's Championship

SAFF Women’s Championship

Question: Which of the following country won the 2016 SAFF Women’s Championship?
(a) Maldives
(b) Afghanistan
(c) Pakistan
(d) India
Ans (d)
Related facts:

  • The 2016 SAFF Women’s Championship was the fourth edition of the SAFF Women’s Championship, the biennial international women’s football championship contested by the national teams of the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF).
  • The tournament began in India from 26 December 2016 and held upto 4 January 2017.
  • This was the first time India had hosted the SAFF Women’s Championship.
  • The participating teams (7) are India (host), Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka.
  • Competition Results:
  • Winner: India (3-1)
  • Runner Up:Bangladesh
  • Sabitra Bhandari of Nepal is top goal scorer in the tournament (12).
  • This was India’s fourth consecutive SAFF Championship title.
  • The tournament saw no participation from Pakistan.


Milan win Supercoppa Italiana

Italian Supercup-2016

Question: Who won the recently held Italian Supercup-2016?
(a) Juventus FC
(b) AC Milan
(c) Roma FC
(d) Toreno
Ans: (b)
Related facts:

  • The 2016 Supercoppa Italiana was the 29th edition of the Supercoppa Italiana, Italian football supercup.
  • It was played on 23 December 2016 at Jassim Bin Hamad Stadium in Doha, Qatar.
  • Winner: AC Milan
  • Runners Up: Juventus FC
  • It is the first title of Ac Milan since 2011.


FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2016

FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2016

Question: Who among the following has won the recently held 2016 FIFA Club World Cup?
(a) Real Madrid
(b) Kashima Antlers
(c) Auckland City
(d) Atletico Nacional
Ans. (a)
Related facts:

  • The 2016 FIFA Club World Cup was the 13th edition of the FIFA Club World Cup held on 8-18 December 2016 in Japan.
  • It was officially known as the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2016 presented by Alibaba YunOS Auto for sponsorship reasons.
  • Competition Results:
  • Gold- Real Madrid (4-2), Spain
  • Silver-Kashima Antlers, Japan
  • Bronze-Atletico Nacional, Colombia
  • Awards:
  • Best Player (The Golden Ball)- Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  • Fair Play Award-Kashima Antlers, Japan
  • Leading goal scorers : Cristiano Ronaldo(4 goals)
  • Golden Ball: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  • Silver Ball: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  • Bronze Ball: Gaku Shibasaki (Kashima Antlers)


Skip to toolbar