सामयिक विषय: Cricket


India-New Zealand ODI Series, 2017

Question: Who won ‘Player of the Series’ title in the India-New Zealand ODI series-2017, concluded on October 29, 2017?
(a) Rohit Sharma
(b) Tom Latham
(c) Virat Kohli
(d) Ross Taylor
Answer: (c)
Related Facts:

  • The New Zealand cricket team is playing a series of three ODIs and three T-20 matches on tour of India. (October 22 to November 7, 2017)
  • ODI series of three matches concluded. (October 22-29, 2017)
  • India won the ODI series 2-1.
  • This is India’s seventh consecutive win in ODI series.
  • Virat Kohli was chosen as the player of the series for most 263 runs in the Series.
  • Virat scored a hundred before the series and in his 200th match, and became the second batsman in the world to score a hundred in the 200th match.
  • Virat Kohli became the fastest player to reach 9000 ODIs runs after reaching the milestone in 194 innings.
  • In the third match, Virat made his 32nd century of ODI career.
  • Only Sachin Tendulkar (49 centuries) ahead of him in terms of the most centuries in ODIs.
  • With 1460 run Virat is at top among the players who make highest run this year.
  • In this series, Rohit Sharma completed 1000 runs in 2017.
  • He became the second batsman to do this.
  • Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli shared more than 200 runs in the ODIs four times, which is the highest partnership by any pair.
  • Dhoni became India’s first wicketkeeper, who has caught 200 catches (289 totals) in ODIs on the Indian land.


women cricket super leauge ,2017

Women’s Cricket Super League

Question: Which team won the title of the English Women’s Cricket Super League, concluded on September 1st, 2017?
(a) Western Storm
(b) Surrey Stars
(c) Lancashire Thunder
(d) Yorkshire Diamonds
Answer: (a)
Related Facts:

  • England’s semi-professional cricket tournament Women’s Cricket Super League, 2017 (T-20) concluded in the Howe, England. (10 August – 1 September, 2017)
  • For reasons of sponsorship, it is known as the Kia Super League.
  • Administrator-England and Wales Cricket Board
  • Format-Twenty-20
  • Participants Teams-6
  • Competition Results:
  • Winner-Western Storm, Captain-Heather Knight
  • Runner-up Southern Vipers, Captain-Charlotte Edwards



India-Sri Lanka ODI series-2017

Question- In recently concluded India-Sri Lanka ODI series M.S Dhoni made a new world record for 100 stumping in ODIs. Who amongst the following is the first player to hold this record?

(a) Adam Gilchrist
(b) Mark Boucher
(c) Kumar Sangakara
(d) Nayan Mongia

Answer: (c)
Related Facts:

  • A series of 5 ODIs concluded between India and Sri Lanka. (August 20 to September 3, 2017)
  • India won the ODI series by 5-0 with a clean sweep.
  • This is the first time that India has defeated Sri Lanka by 5-0 on their soil.
  • Indian bowler Jaspreet Bumrah, who took 15 wickets in the series, was selected as Player of the Series.
  • Most 330 runs in the series are scored by Indian captain Virat Kohli.
  • The first ODI in the series was the 200th match of Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga’s ODI career.
  • The second ODI in the series was Sri Lanka’s 800th ODI match.
  • In this match Sri Lankan spinner Akila Dhananjay joined the club (Hall) of 5 wickets takers in a match.
  • Akila received 54 runs in 10 overs with 6 wickets.
  • S Dhoni in the second match and Bhuvneshwar Kumar shared an unbeaten 100-run partnership for the 8th wicket.
  • This is the highest partnership for the 8th wicket in ODIs against any country.
  • In the third match, Chamara Kapugedara became Sri Lanka’s 20th ODI captain.
  • In this match, Jaspreet Bumrah joined the club (haul) of 5-wicket takers in a match.
  • Bumrah taken 5 wickets giving 27 runs in 10 overs.
  • Lasith Malinga became Sri Lanka’s 21st ODI captain in the fourth one-dayer.
  • In the fourth one-dayer match Virat Kohli shared a 219-run partnership with Rohit Sharma.
  • With this, Virat has become the first cricketer to have done 200 or more runs (double century partnership) 10 times in one-dayers.
  • The fourth match of the series, M.S. Dhoni was the 300th ODI, in which he made the world record of not being out.
  • This was the 73rd occasion that in an ODI when Dhoni return at not-out (49 runs).
  • Earlier this record was in the name of Sri Lanka’s Chaminda Vaas and South Africa’s. Shaun Pollack (72-72 times not out).
  • In the fourth match, Sri Lanka lost by 168 runs, which is the biggest defeat on its own field in terms of runs.
  • MS Dhoni in the fifth and final match of the series, stumped Akilia Dhananjay on the ball of Yajuwendra Chahal, became the world’s first cricketer to do 100 stumpings in ODIs.
  • He broke the record of 99 stumpings of former Sri Lankan cricketer Kumar Sangakara
  • Dhoni has caught 283 catches behind the wicket in 301 ODIs.
  • In the fifth match, Virat Kohli made his 30th century (in the 186th innings of 194th match) of his ODI career by playing an unbeaten innings.
  • With this, Kohli has reached the second place with Australia’s Ricky Ponting in terms of hitting the most hundreds in one-dayers.
  • In the same series, he had secured third place in the list by breaking the record of 28 centuries in Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya.
  • In ODIs record for hitting maximum 49 ODI centuries is in the name of Sachin Tendulkar (India).
  • In the fifth match, Indian bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar joined the club (Haul) of takers of 5 wickets in a match.
  • In 9.4 overs Bhuvneshwar got 5 wickets giving 42 runs.


Skip to toolbar