सामयिक विषय: Cricket

ipl t-20 tournament 2017

IPL Twenty20 tournament

Question: Who was the winner of recently concluded IPL-10?
(A) Kolkata Knight Riders
(B) Mumbai Indians
(C) Rising Pune Supergiant
(D) Sunrise Hyderabad
Ans: (b)
Related facts:-

  • Tenth IPL, sponsored by Vivo, was conducted in various cities of India from April 5 to May 21, 2017.
  • Mumbai Indians, led by Rohit Sharma, won the tournament for the third time, defeating Rising Pune Supergiant led by Steve Smith (Australia), by 1 run in the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad.
  • Kunal Pandya of Mumbai Indians was elected ‘Man of the Match’ of the final match.
  • ‘Ben Stokes’ (England) of Rising Pune Supergiant was selected as ‘Most Valuable Player’.
  • IPL-10: Key facts-
  • Orange Cap (for making the most runs) – David Warner (641 runs), Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Purple Cap (for taking most wickets) – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26 wickets), Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Fair Play Trophy – Gujarat Lions
  • Most individual score- (in an innings) -David Warner (126), Sunrisers Hyderabad; Against Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Fastest Fifties – Sunil Narayan (Kolkata Knight Riders), at 15 balls.
  • Fastest century – David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad), in 43 balls
  • Most Sixes – 26, Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab)
  • Most Fours-63, David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad)
  • Emerging Player-Basil Thampi (Gujarat Lions)
  • The 4 players who hit the century in the IPL-10 are David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Hashim Amla (Kings XI Punjab), Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiant) and Sanju Samson (Delhi Daredevils)

Related Link:-

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2017

Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2017

Question: Who amongst the following has been selected for the Man of the Series in the recently concluded Border-Gavaskar Test series between India and Australia?
(a) Steve Smith
(b) Ravichandran Ashwin
(c) Ravindra Jadeja
(d) Cheteshwar Pujara
Answer- (c)
Related facts:

  • On March 28th, 2017, India won the Border Gavaskar Trophy by 2-1, defeating Australia by 8 wickets in the fourth and final Test match.
  • All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been chosen for Man of the Series on scoring 127 runs and 25 wickets in this series.
  • Jadeja also became Man of the Match in the fourth match.
  • The first match of this series was played in Pune between 23-25 February, 2017, won by Australia by 333 runs.
  • O’Keefe, Australian bowler who took 12 wickets in this (1st) match has been awarded with Man of the Match title.
  • The second match of the series was played in Bangalore between March 4-7, 2017, won by India by 75 runs and K.L. Rahul became Man of the Match.
  • The third match of the series was played in Ranchi between March 16-20, which was a draw and Cheteshwar Pujara, who scored a double century, was selected for the Man of the match.
  • Highest run scorers in the series: 1. Steve Smith – 499 runs, 2. Cheteshwar Pujara – 405 runs 3. KL Rahul-393 runs
    Most wicket takers: 1. Ravindra Jadeja – 25 wickets, 2. R. Ashwin – 21 wickets, 3. Nathan Lyon – 19 wickets.
  • A numbers of records have been formed during this series which are as follows:
  • It is the 7th consecutive test series victory of team India under Virat Kohli’s leadership.
  • Team India has defeated all the nine Test teams in the previous domestic series. India after Australia and South Africa is the third team to do so.
  • In the absence of Virat Kohli, the 33th Test captain Ajinkya Rahane, who hold the captaincy in the fourth Test, became the ninth Indian captain to win his first match.
  • Cheteshwar Pujara scored 202 runs off 525 balls in second innings of third test and became the first Indian cricketer to face 500 balls in a single Test innings.
  • India has won four out of the four Test series in 2016-2017 Season.
  • Ravindra Jadeja is the third player who scored more than 500 runs and took more than 50 wickets, in a Season.
  • Ravichandran Ashwin broke Dale Steyn’s (78) record of taking the most wickets in a season. He has taken 79 wickets in the season 2016-17.
  • Total thirteen (13) series of the Border-Gavaskar Test has been played since 1996-97, out of which seven (7) series won by India, five (5) series by Australia while the series in the 2003-04 was a draw.

Related links:

Irani Cup 2016-17

Irani Cup, 2016-17

Question: Which of the following team won the Irani Cup-2016-17?
(a) Gujarat
(b) Rest of India
(c) UP
(d) Karnataka
Related facts:

  • From 20 January to 24 January 2017; Irani Cup(2016-17) was played at Cricket Club of India, Mumbai
  • It was the 55th season of the Irani Cup a first-class cricket competition in India
  • Winner-Rest of India (6 wickets)
  • Runner-Gujarat
  • Man of the Match (Final)- Wriddhiman Saha (Rest of India)
  • Wriddhiman Saha scored unbeaten 203.
  • Saha also became the first wicketkeeper to score a double-hundred in the Irani Cup and the first batsman to do so in the fourth innings in the competition.
  • Cheteshwar Pujara was captain of the Rest of India team and Parthiv patel was the captain of Gujarat.
  • Rest of India won the Irani cup for 26 times which if most by any team.


Skip to toolbar