सामयिक विषय: Chess

Teimur Rajabov Wins the Geneva FIDE Grand Prix 2017

Geneva FIDE grand Prix

Question: Which position did the Indian Pentala Harikrishna secure in the recently concluded Geneva Fide Grand Prix, 2017?

(a) Jointly fourth place
(b) Jointly third place
(c) Jointly fifth place
(d) Jointly sixth place

Answer- (b)
Related facts:

Geneva FIDE Grand Prix, third in the FIDE World chess championship cycle, concluded inSwitzerland from July 6-15, 2017.

There are four tournaments in FIDE World chess championship cycle- Sharjah, Moscow, Geneva and Palma de Mallorca.

Winner– Timur Radjabov (Azerbaijan).

Indian Grandmaster P. Harikrishna jointly finished third in the tournament.

Palma de Mallorca Fide Grand Prix, last in FIDE World chess championship cyclewill be concluded in Spain in November, 2017.



Women's World Chess Championship 2017

Women’s World Chess Championship, 2017

Question- Who won the Women’s World Chess Championship titled, 2017, in Tehran, on March 5, 2017?
(a) Tan Zhongyi
(b) Koneru Hampi
(c) Anastasia Savina
(d) Alexandra Kosteniuk
Ans: (a)
Related facts:-

  • 64 Female chess players’ knockout tournament ‘World Chess Championship, 2017’ concludes in Tehran, Iran. (February 10 to March 5, 2017)
  • Competition Results:-
  • Gold Medal-Tan Zhongyi (China)
  • Silver Medal-Ana Muzychuk (Ukraine)
  • Bronze medal-Harika Dronavalli (India)
  • Bronze Medal-Alexandra Kosteniuk (Russia)
  • Tan won the Grand Prix (GM) title after winning this championship

Related Links:-

15th delhi international grandmasters open chess tournament-2017

15th Parsvnath Delhi International Chess tournament-2017

Question: Who won the title of “Group-A” in recently held 15th Parsvnath Delhi International chess tournament -2017?
(a) Sairaj Chittal
(b) Diptayan Ghosh
(c) Farrukh Amonatov
(d) Murali Karthikeyan
Ans: (c)
Related facts:

  • The 15th Parsvnath Delhi International chess tournament -2017 was held on 09-16 January 2017 in New Delhi.
  • Result of the tournament:
  • Group-A:
  • Winner: Farrukh Amonatov of Tajikistan
  • Runner Up: Diptayan Ghosh(India) and Dzhumaev Marat (Uzbekistan)
  • Winner Goup’B’ -Sairaj Cittl (Maharashtra )
  • Winner Group ‘C’ -Suhaib Ahmed (UP)


Skip to toolbar