सामयिक विषय: Boxing

AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships 2016

AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships

Question: Who among the following has won the only Gold medal at recently held AIBA Youth World Boxing Championships?
(a) Sudhir Kumar
(b) Sachin Singh
(c) Ajay Kumar
(d) Mahesh Chandra
Ans: (b)
Related facts:

  • AIBA Youth World Boxing Championship was held on 17-26 November 2016 in St. Petersburg, Russia .
  • In this Championship Cuba with 2 gold and 2 silver medals got first place.
  • India with 1 gold and 1 bronze medal ranked fourth with Australia and Turkey in the competition.
  • Sachin Singh (won the only gold medal at the AIBA Youth World Championships with a stunning unanimous victory over Cuban national champion Jorge Grinan.
  • Representing India in men’s heavyweight 91 kg category was Naman Tanwar, won bronze after he lost in the semi-finals against Pero of Cuba.



Ajay Singh

Question: Recently who has been elected as the president of the Boxing Federation of India?
(a) Jay Kowli
(b) Ajay Singh
(c) Rohit Jain
(d) Hemanta Kumar Kalita
Ans: (b)
Related facts:

  • On 25 September 2016 the election process for the office-bearers of the new National Boxing federation was completed.
  • Ajay Singh of Uttarakhand is elected president of the Boxing Federation of India.
  • Mumbai-based Jay Kowli won the post of secretary-general.
  • Ajay Singh, who polled 49 out of the 64 votes cast, defeated Rohit Jain (15 votes) in the contest for the president’s post.
  • Jay Kowli polled 48 votes, ahead of Lenny D’Gama (12) and Rakesh Thakran (4).
  • Assam’s Hemanta Kumar Kalita was elected unopposed as treasurer.
  • Indian Boxing Federation is the Indian national governing body for Olympic boxing and is the India’s member organization of the International Amateur Boxing Association (AIBA).
  • The headquarter of Boxing Federation of India is in New Delhi.


Skip to toolbar