सामयिक विषय: Badminton


Indonesia Masters-2018

Question: Which player amongst the given defeated Saina Nehwal in the finals of the Indonesia Masters Badminton tournament in Jakarta on January 28, 2018?
(a) Tai Tzu Ying
(b) P. V. Sindhu
(c) Li Soo
(d) Sin Seung Chan
Answer: (a) 
Related Facts:

  • Grand 500 badminton competition ‘Indonesia Masters’ of BWF World Tour concluded in Jakarta, Indonesia.
  • Competition Result:
  • Men’s Singles
    Winner-Anthony Siniska Ginning (Indonesia)
    Runner up-Kajumasa Sakai (Japan)
  • Women’s Singles 
    Winner-Tai Tzu-Ying (Chinese Taipei)
    Runner up-Saina Nehwal (India)
  • This is the seventh consecutive win over Ying (world number one player) Saina.
  • Ying has defeated Saina nine times in the last ten matches.
  • Saina won the Ying at the Swiss Open for the last time in 2013.



Iceland International, 2018

Question: Which of the following player defeated India’s Bodhit Joshi in the men’s singles final of the Iceland International Badminton Competition, held on 28th January, 2018?
(a) Adam Hall
(b) Alexander Dunn
(c) Sam Parsons
(d) Agnes Korosi
Answer: (c) 
Related Facts:

  • ‘Iceland International’, 2018 badminton competition of BWF Tour, the 2018 international series’ concluded in Reykjavik, Iceland. (25-28 January, 2018)
  • Major Competition Results: 
  • Men’s Singles:
    Gold Medal-Sam Parsons (England)
    Silver Medal- Bodhit Joshi (India)
    Bronze Medal – Siddharth Pratap Singh (India)
  • Women’s Singles: 
    Gold Medal- Saili Rane (India)
    Silver Medal-Vaishnavi Reddy Jaka (India)
  • Men’s Doubles
    Bronze Medal – Adarsh ​​Kumar and Jagdish Yadav (both India)
  • Mixed Doubles:
    Gold Medal – Rohan Kapoor and Kuhu Garg (both India)



42nd Junior National Badminton Championship-2017

Question: Who won the boy’s single (U-19) and Girl’s singles (U-19) title in the 42nd Junior National Badminton Championship held in December 2017?
(a) Aryaman Tandon, Vaidehi Chaudhary
(b) Rahul Bhardwaj, Vaidehi Chaudhary
(c) Aryaman Tandon, Akarshi Kashyap
(d) Rahul Bhardwaj, Akarshi Kashyap
Answer: (c)
Related Facts:

  • 42nd Junior National Badminton Championship, 2017, concluded in Guwahati, Assam. (December 14-18, 2017)
  • Competition Results-
  • Boy’s Single (U-19)
  • Winner-Aryaman Tandon
  • Runner up Rahul Bharadwaj
  • Girl’s Singles (U-19)
  • Winner- Akarshi Kashyap
  • Runner up- Vaidehi Chaudhary
  • Boy’s Doubles (U-19)
  • Winner-P. Vishnuvardhan Gaur and Shri Krishna Sai Kumar Podiley
  • Runner up D. Sanjay Srivatsa and Siddhartha Alengo
  • Girl’s Double (U-19)
  • Winner-Rutaparna Panda and U.K. Mithula
  • Runners up Simran Singh and Ritika Thacker
  • Mixed Doubles (U-19)
  • Winner – G. Krishna Prasad and U.K. Mithula
  • Runners up- Shri Krishna Sai Kumar Podiley and Rutaparna Panda
  • Boy’s Single (U-17)
  • Winner-Messnam Meraba
  • Runners up, Amit Rathore
  • Girl’s Single (U-17)
  • Winners- Akarshi Kashyap (Chhattisgarh)
  • Runner up Malvika Bansod
  • Boy’s Doubles (U-17)
  • Winner-Navneet Bocka and P. Vishnuvardhan Gaur
  • Runner up Dhruv Rawat and Akash Yadav
  • Girls’ Double (U-17)
  • Winner-Trisha Hegde and Drithi Yatish
  • Runner up-Kayura Mopti and S. Kavipriya


Skip to toolbar