सामयिक विषय: International

Pak court allows private channels to show Indian films

Pakistani private television channels allowed to show Indian films

Question: Recently Pakistani court has allowed private television channels having valid licences to show Indian films, the interim order was passed on a petition filed by-
(a) Dawn TV
(b) Jio TV
(c) Leo Communications
(d) None of the above
Ans: (c)
Related facts:
• On 14 February 2017; Pakistani court has allowed private television channels having valid licences to show Indian films as per their terms of agreement with the country’s regulatory authority.
• The permission to private television channels in the light of the report put by the Pakistan Electronic Media Regulatory Authority (PEMRA) before the court.
• The interim order was passed on a petition filed by Leo Communication challenging ban on airing Indian content on cable television network.
• Lahore High Court Chief Justice Syed Mansoor Ali Shah granted the permission.
• PEMRA in its October 2016 order had banned Pakistani private channels being operated through cable network from airing the Indian content.

Economic freedom index 2017


Question: What is India’s ranking in the 2017 INDEX OF ECONOMIC FREEDOM recently released by The Heritage Foundation?
(a) 142nd
(b) 145th
(c) 141st
(d) 143rd
Ans: (d)

  • On 15th February, 2017, The Heritage Foundation released the 2017 Index of Economic Freedom.
  • Among the 180 countries ranked, scores improved for 103 countries and declined for 73 (16 of which recorded their lowest Index scores ever).
  • Five economies earned the Index’s designation of “free” (scores of 80 or above), while the next 87 are classified as “mostly free” (70-79.9) or “moderately free” (60-69.9). Yet the number of economically “unfree” economies remains high: 65 are considered “mostly unfree” (50-59.9) and 23 are “repressed” (scores below 50).
  • Hong Kong and Singapore each logged increases in their Index scores, finishing first and second in the rankings for the 23rd consecutive year.
  • Five other frequent top 10 finishers — New Zealand (3rd globally), Switzerland (4th), Australia (5th), Estonia (6th) and Canada (7th) also improved their scores. A surprise newcomer to the top 10, the United Arab Emirates, improved its Index score by 4.3 points to take the 8th spot. Ireland (9th) and Chile (10th) saw their scores dip, but still managed to round out the global top 10.
  • India ranked 143rd in the annual index of economic freedom and falls under ‘mostly unfree’ category with score of 52.6 .
  • India’s score of 52.6 points is 3.6 points less than that of last year, when India was ranked 123rd.
  • Nepal (125), Sri Lanka (112), Pakistan (141), Bhutan (107), and Bangladesh (128) surpassed India in economic freedom.
  • China with a score of 57.4 points was placed at 111 positions. The United States was ranked 17 with 75.1 points.
  • The world average score of 60.9 is the highest recorded in the 23-year history of the index.
  • How it works:
  • The Index evaluates countries in four broad policy areas that affect economic freedom: rule of law; government size; regulatory efficiency; and open markets. There are 12 specific categories: property rights, judicial effectiveness, government integrity, tax burden, government spending, fiscal health, business freedom, labor freedom, monetary freedom, trade freedom, investment freedom, and financial freedom. Scores in these categories are averaged to create an overall score.
  • Based on an average score, each of 180 countries graded in the 2017 Index is classified as “free” (i.e., combined scores of 80 or higher); “mostly free” (70-79.9); “moderately free” (60-69.9); “mostly unfree” (50-59.9); or “repressed” (under 50).
  • The Index groups the world’s countries into five regions: the Americas, Asia-Pacific (home to nine of the 20 most-improved countries), Europe, Middle East/North Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa (with the most countries recording notable score declines).


Visit of Commander of The Sri Lankan Navy

Visit of Commander of The Sri Lankan Navy to India

Question: Vice Admiral RC Wijegunaratne, Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy is on an official visit to India from-
(a) 29 January
(b) 28 January
(c) 27 January
(d) 26 January
Ans: (a)
Related facts:

  • From 29 January to 02 February 2017; Vice Admiral RC Wijegunaratne, Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy is on an official visit to India.
  • The visit is aimed at consolidating bilateral naval relations between India and Sri Lanka and to explore new avenues for naval cooperation.
  • Commander, Sri Lankan Navy will hold bilateral discussions with Admiral Sunil Lanba, Chief of the Naval Staff and other senior officials of the Indian Navy on 30 January 2017.
  • The Commander, Sri Lankan Navy’s visit follows closely on the visit of the Chief of Naval Staff, Admiral Sunil Lanba’s visit to Sri Lanka wherein he also participated in the 7th International Maritime Conference, Galle Dialogue 2016 held on 28-29 November 2016.


Skip to toolbar