Daily : January 19, 2018

icc awards 2017

ICC awards-2017

Question: Who has been announced as the ‘Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy’ (Best Cricketer) under the International Cricket Council’s annual awards?
(a) Joe Root
(b) Ravichandran Ashwin
(c) Virat Kohli
(d) Alistair Cooke
Answer: (c)
Related Facts:

  • On January 18th, 2018, the International Cricket Council (ICC) annual Awards -2017′ were announced.
  • The prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy, for the best player of the year was announced to be given to Indian cricket team’s captain Virat Kohli.
  • Award for Best Female Players of the Year (Rachel Hayo Finalult) will be awarded to Australia’s Ellyse Perry.
  • Other awards holders are as follows:
  • Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
  • Test Player of the Year: Steve Smith (Australia)
  • ODI Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India)
  • Twenty20 International Performance of the Year: Yuzvendra Chahal (India)
  • Emerging Player of the Year: Hasan Ali (Pakistan)
  • Associate Player of the Year: Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
  • Umpire of the Year: Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
  • Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Ellyse Perry (Australia)
  • Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand)
  • Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Beth Mooney (Australia)
  • Women’s Emerging Player of the Year: Beth Mooney (Australia)
  • Spirit of Cricket: Anya Shrubsole (England)
  • ICC Fan’s Moment of the Year: Pakistan stuns India to win the ICC Champions Trophy 2017
  • India’s Virat Kohli has been selected as the captain of the men’s Test and ODI team of the ICC.
  • Significantly, this is the second occasion when Virat Kohli was declared the best ODI player of the year.
  • Prior to this, he received this honor in the year 2012.
  • The Indian players included in the Test Team – Virat Kohli (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara and R. Ashwin.
  • Indian players included in the one-team team – Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma and Jaspreet Bumrah (12th player).
  • England’s Heather Knight has been selected as the captain of the ICC Women’s ODI team, and includes Mithali Raj and Ekta Bisht of India.
  • Captain of ICC Women’s Twenty20 Team West Indies Stephanie Taylor has been selected and includes Harmanpreet Kaur of India and Ekta Bisht.
  • Players for the awards were selected on the basis of the performance made during the mid-term of 1 September, 2016 and December 31, 2017.


Agni-5 ballistic missile tested succesfully

Successful test of Agni-5 missile

Question: On January 18th, 2018, Nuclear-capable inter-continental ballistic missile ‘Agni-5’ was successfully tested from of Dr. A.P. J. Abdul Kalam (Wheeler Island). It has the strike range of –
(a) Over 3000 km
(b) Over 5000 km
(c) Over 2500 km
(d) Over 6500 km
Answer: (b) 
Related Facts:

  • On January 18th, 2018, Nuclear-capable inter-continental ballistic missile ‘Agni -5’ was successfully tested from Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Island (Wheeler Island) of Odisha.
  • ‘Agni 5’ is a surface-to-surface missile with strike range over 5000 km.
  • It is designed and manufactured by the Defense Research and Development Organization.
  • 50 meter long, 50 ton weigh fire-5 tropical missile.
  • This was the fifth successful test of this missile.
  • Earlier, on April 19th, 2012, the first test was done, on September 15th, 2013, second test and on January 31st, 2015 third test and the fourth successful test was done on December 26th, 2016.
  • It is noteworthy that with successful test of ‘Agni -5’ missile on April 19th, 2012, India has joined exclusive ICBM with US, France, Russia and China countries.




Question: Consider the following statements related to Saksham-2018–
(1) Saksham-2018 is being organized by the Power Ministry.
(2) Its purpose is to promote electrical conservation.
Which of the above is/are correct?
(a) Only 1
(b) Only 2
(c) 1 and 2 both
(d) Neither 1 nor 2
Answer- (d) 
Related Facts:

  • On January 16th, 2018, Saksham (Sanrakshan Kshamta Mahotsav) a month long month mahotsav started at Siri Fort Auditorium in Delhi.
  • Saksham (Sanrakshan Kshamta Mahotsav) is an annual flagship event of Petroleum Conservation Research Association (PCRA) under the aegis of Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas, Govt. of India.
  • Oil & Gas PSUs along with other stakeholders like State Governments also actively participate in this.
  • Mahotsav is objected to create focused attention on fuel conservation through people centric activities and to sensitize the masses about the conservation and efficient use of petroleum products leading to better health and environment.
  • The month long campaign aims to intensify efforts for making citizens aware about the conservation and effective utilization of petroleum products.
  • Beside this, PCRA has also planned to observe Cycle Day on 21st January throughout the country & Cyclothon   event at Indore, Bhubaneswar, Mumbai etc. to spearhead the message of fuel conservation, reduction of vehicular emission by reducing congestion and improving traffic flow.


Skip to toolbar