Daily : October 10, 2017

Fifth India Water Week 2017

India water Week-2017

  • On 10 October, 2017 the President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, inaugurated India Water Week-2017 in Vigyan Bhavan, New Delhi.
  • Ministry of Water Resources, RD & GR is to organize the India Water Week 2017 between October 10-14, 2017.
  • This is the fifth event of its kind with the theme “Water and Energy for Inclusive Growth” focusing on improving role of water use across all sectors.
  • India Water Week is organized to use it as a platform to elicit ideas and opinions from global level decision makers, politicians, researchers and entrepreneurs in the field of water resources for mutual benefit and goodwill.
  • The Conference was attended by more than 1500 national and international delegates and an exhibition covering an area of 3000 sqm as well as number of specialized add-on events as other highlights of the event.
  • A multi-disciplinary dialogue in the form of a conference discussing issues of “Water and Energy for inclusive Growth”:-
  • Water, Food and Energy Security-Essential Requirement for Sustainable Development.
  • Water for Inclusive Growth.
  • Sustainable Energy Development-Key for All Round Economic Growth.
  • Water and Society.

Organising Group

  • The India Water Week (IWW)-2017 will be organised by the Ministry of Water Resources, RD& GR in co-ordination with nodal ministries of Agriculture, Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Rural Development, Urban Development, Drinking Water Supply and Sanitation, Power, New and Renewable Energy, Niti Aayog along with their associated expert organizations and Public Sector Units, key International Bodies and private and public business houses.

Other Facts to Know –

  • Currently, 80 per cent of water in India is used by agriculture and only 15 per cent by industry. In the coming years, this ratio will change.
  • In India, 54 per cent of people are dependent on farming for their livelihood. Yet, their share of national income is only 14 per cent.
  • To make agriculture more remunerative and to improve the prosperity of farming communities, the government has introduced many new projects. These include:

1. ‘Har Khet ko Paani’– Water for Every Farm: This requires enhancing the supply and availability of water
2. ‘Per Drop, More Crop’: This requires using drip irrigation and related methods to improve farm productivity, while using the same volume of water
3. ‘Doubling Farm Incomes by 2022’: To achieve this, the government is rapidly expanding the area under irrigation, and completing 99 long-pending irrigation projects. Sixty per cent of these projects are in drought-prone areas


Edristi Navatra Current Affairs September-2017

edristi navatra edristi navatra
 Download12,555 Download51,123

The Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences 2017

  • On 9th October, 2017 The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2017 to Richard H. Thaler (University of Chicago, IL, USA) “for his contributions to behavioral economics”.
  • Richard H. Thaler has incorporated psychologically realistic assumptions into analyses of economic decision-making.
  • By exploring the consequences of limited rationality, social preferences, and lack of self-control, he has shown how these human traits systematically affect individual decisions as well as market outcomes.
  • Richard Thaler’s contributions have built a bridge between the economic and psychological analyses of individual decision-making.
  • His empirical findings and theoretical insights have been instrumental in creating the new and rapidly expanding field of behavioral economics, which has had a profound impact on many areas of economic research and policy.

About Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

  • The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel Awarded to 79 Laureates since 1969.
  • In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden’s central bank) established the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize.
  • The Prize is based on a donation received by the Nobel Foundation in 1968 from Sveriges Riksbank on the occasion of the Bank’s 300th anniversary.
  • The first Prize in Economic Sciences was awarded to Ragnar Frisch and Jan Tinbergen in 1969.
  • The Prize in Economic Sciences is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm, Sweden, according to the same principles as for the Nobel Prizes that have been awarded since 1901.
  • 1 woman have been awarded the Prize in Economic Sciences so far, Elinor Ostrom, in 2009.


Skip to toolbar