Daily : October 6, 2017

The Nobel Peace Prize for 2017

2017 Nobel Peace Prize

  • On 6th October, 2017 The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2017 to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN).
  • The organization is receiving the award for its work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons.

About International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN)

  • The International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) is a coalition of non-governmental organizations in one hundred countries promoting adherence to and implementation of the United Nations nuclear weapon ban treaty.
  • This landmark global agreement was adopted in New York on 7 July 2017.
  • ICAN began in Australia and was officially launched in Vienna, Austria in 2007.
  • ICAN have worked to build a powerful global groundswell of public support for the abolition of nuclear weapons.
  • By engaging a diverse range of groups and working alongside the Red Cross and like-minded governments, ICAN have helped reshape the debate on nuclear weapons and generate momentum towards elimination.
  • The UN secretary-general praised ICAN in 2012 “for working with such commitment and creativity in pursuit of our shared goal”.

About Nobel Nobel Peace Prize

  • The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded by a committee of five persons who are chosen by the Norwegian Storting (Parliament of Norway).
  • Awarded to 131 Nobel Laureates since 1901.
  • 3 Peace Prize Laureates have been under arrest at the time of the award: German pacifist and journalist Carl von Ossietzky, Burmese politician Aung San Suu Kyi and Chinese human rights activist Liu Xiaobo.


Skip to toolbar