Daily : March 17, 2017

Vidhan sabha election 20017

Assembly Election Results of Five States

Question: Match the total number of seats of state assembly in column A with States in column B.

(1)403 (a)Goa
(2)117 (b)Uttar Pradesh
(3)40 (C)Manipur
(4)60 (d)Uttarakhand
(5)70 (e)Punjab


  A B C D E
(a) 3 1 4 5 2
(b) 2 3 4 1 5
(c) 1 3 2 5 4
(d) 5 4 3 2 1

Ans: (a)

  • Election results for five states- Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand were announced on 11th March, 2017.
  • In Goa, Indian National Congress won 17 seats; Bhartiya Janta Party won 13; Maharashtrawadi Gomantak, Goa Forward Party & Independent 3 each and Nationalist Congress Party 1 seat in the 40 member legislative assembly.
  • In Manipur, Indian National Congress won 28 seats, Bhartiya Janta Party 21 seats, Naga Peoples Front 4 seats, National Peoples Party 4 seats and Lok Janshakti Party, All India Trinmool Congress & Independent 1 each in the 60 member legislative assembly.
  • In Punjab, Indian National Congress won 77 seats; Aam Aadmi Party 20 seats; Shiromani Akali Dal 15; Bhartiya Janta Party 3 and Lok Insaaf Party 2 in the 117 member assembly.
  • Uttar Pradesh has total strength of 403 members in the state assembly. Bhartiya Janta Party won 312 seats in the 2017 assembly election. Samajwadi Party won 47 seats, Indian National Congress won 7 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party won 19 seats and Apna Dal (Sonelal) won 9 seats.
  • In Uttarakhand Bhartiya Janta Party won 57 seats; Indian National Congress 11 seats and Independent 2 seats in the 70 member state assembly.
  • The Election Commission of India notified the election schedule on 4th January, 2017.
  • Elections were conducted in 1 phase in Goa, Uttarakhand and Punjab; Two Phases in Manipur and 7 Phases in Uttar Pradesh.
  • Out of 2979 candidates in all the states, there were just 234 women and out of which only 56 were elected.
  • In U.P assembly election 41 out of the 61 female candidates in the race were elected.
  • In Punjab only 6 women candidate out of 81 who contested the polls could secure victory.
  • Out of 62 female candidates, only 5 have been elected in Uttarakhand Assembly polls.
  • 11 women candidates contested elections in Manipur assembly election and out of these, only two could secure wins.
  • 2 out of 19 candidates were elected to the state legislative assembly in Goa.
  • Uttar Pradesh’s Sahibabad assembly seat saw the winner with highest victory margin of 1,50,685 votes, while the winning candidate at Manipur’s Sagolband seat scraped through with a small margin of 19 votes — lowest in all 689 seats in five states that went to polls.
  • Five seats in Uttar Pradesh — Kunda, Mathura, Noida, Rath and Sahibabad — witnessed victory with a margin of over one lakh votes.


Skip to toolbar